5 O’CLOCK SOMEWHERE

Cheers to Beer!

Discovering New Brews With Chicago’s Own Afro.Beer.Chick

afrobella
3 min readOct 29, 2021

--

Photo by Sal Gh on Unsplash

There are a remarkable number of beer-related holidays if you’re into marking that sort of thing on your calendar. From ales to IPAs to stout, there’s a national day or week for them all. The main beer days to mark your calendar for are National Beer Day on April 7th (which marks the day that Franklin Roosevelt signed the legalization of beer sales, thereby ending prohibition), International Beer Day on August 4th, and National American Beer Day was just commemorated on October 27. With the celebration of Oktoberfest throughout, October is a pretty beer-heavy month.

Beer is one of the world’s oldest alcoholic beverages, and has a cultural legacy in so many regions of the world. I have so much interest in the history of food and drink and I want to love beer, but it is a taste I have yet to acquire. I’m trying to expand my palate, because in my experience, beer is the most socially consumed beverage. Here in downtown Chicago, craft beer is a huge part of the social scene. For years I’ve been the one sipping cider on the sidelines at beer events, while listening to my husband excitedly talk about his new favorite from Marz Brewing, or making plans for Dark Lord Day to buy special beer with our relatives. I’m ready to try to join the party…

--

--

afrobella

Beauty, hair and culture writer. One of WWD's 50 Most Influential People in the Multicultural Market. Often called the Godmother of Brown Beauty Blogging!